Giro D Italia Stage 21 Highlights

After defending his lead after Matteo Sobrero won the individual time trial in Verona, Australian rider Jai Hindley became the first Australian to win the Giro d’Italia.

Olympic road champion Richard Carapaz was 1 minute and 25 seconds behind the Bora-Hansgrohe team’s 26-year-old rider as the final stage began in Verona.

Giro D Italia Stage 21 Highlights

On the 17.4-kilometer route, Hindley finished in at a time of 23 minutes, 55 seconds, and 98 tenth-place finisher Carapaz was about seven seconds faster.

Final GS standings see the Australian ahead of the Ecuadorian by 1:18, with Mikel Landa in third at 3 minutes and 24 seconds.

After the race, an emotional Hindley remarked, “I’m incredibly glad to be Australian, I’m happy to take this one home.”

“I find the atmosphere and the feelings present today to be rather lovely. Remembering what happened in 2020 [when he lost the overall lead in the previous TT] weighed heavily on my mind, and I was determined not to let it happen again. This is an unbelievable tiger triumph.”

Stage 21 Finishes for the 2022 Giro d’Italia, Sunday, May 29

  • Time: 22:24.54 Matteo Sobrero (Italy), BikeExchange-Jayco
  • Team DSM’s 22:47.17 was won by Dutchman Thymen Arensman.
  • Alpecin Fenix 23:04.24, Mathieu van der Poel (Netherlands).
  • Trek Segafredo, Bauke Mollema (Netherlands) 23:32.65
  • British INEOS Grenadier Ben Tulett clocked in at 23:36.34.

Conclusion of the 2022 Tour of Italy

  • In a nutshell, we can classify BORA-Aussie Hansgrohe’s star Jai Hindley
  • The Different Types of Mountains Jumbo-Visma by Koen Bouwman (The Netherlands)
  • Arnaud Demare (France, Groupama-FDJ) wins points classification.
  • Juan Pedro Lopez (Spain) of Trek-Segafredo won the young rider classification.

General Classification Standings at the End of Stage 21 of the 2022 Giro d’Italia

  • 86 minutes, 31 seconds: Jai Hindley (Australia), BORA-Hansgrohe
  • R. Carapaz Richard (Ecuador) +0:18 INEOS Grenadiers
  • Spain’s Mikel Landa won in Bahrain with a time of 3 minutes, 24 seconds.
  • Astana Kazakhstan Team’s Vincenzo Nibali (Italy) +9:02
  • The Pello Bilbao (Spain) Up 9:14, Bahrain triumphs.

Last Words

Thanks for reading our article Giro D Italia Stage 21 Highlights. Continue reading and have a good day.